NASDA Honor Awards Program

Since 1972, NASDA has conducted our annual honor awards program for employees of the state departments of agriculture. It has become an important part of our annual meeting program and gives recognition to outstanding professionals who work for NASDA members.

Congratulations to our 2018 NASDA Honor Awards Recipients:

Ambassador's Circle Award: August "Gus" Schumacher, Wholesome Wave
James A. Graham Award for Outstanding Service: Lisa Hanson, Deputy Director, Oregon Department of Agriculture
Honor Award for Communications: Bryan Painter, Director of Communications and Administration, Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food, and Forestry
Douglass – Irvin Administration Award: Larry Maxwell, Chief Administrative Officer and Assistant Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Agriculture
Public-Private Parnership Award: Minnesota Agricultural Water Quality Certification Program (a program of the Minnesota Department of Agriculture), and Land O’Lakes, Inc.

2018 Honor Awards Winners:
Chef Michel Nischan, Massachusetts Commissioner of Agriculture John Lebeaux, Mrs. Susan Schumacher, and Commissioner Steve Reviczky.
Tennessee Commissioner of Agriculture Jai Templeton (R) accepts the NASDA Honor Award on behalf of Larry Maxwell
Bryan Painter (center) accepts the NASDA Communications Award with NASDA President Commissioner Steve Reviczky and Oklahoma Secretary of Agriculture Jim Reese
NASDA President Commissioner Steve Reviczky, Lisa Hanson, and Oregon Director of Agriculture Alexis Taylor