News Article – 

The National Association of State Departments of Agriculture and NASDA Foundation welcomes NASDA’s Next Generation Class of 2021. Since NASDA’s Next Generation inaugural debut in 2015, students from all over the country have participated in NNG and continued into successful careers in our industry. The objective of NNG is to advance future leaders’ understanding of agriculture policy and the role of state departments of agriculture in ensuring a healthy and thriving food system for all. NASDA hosts the NNG program during its annual meeting, where students attend the conference alongside the nation’s commissioners, secretaries and directors of agriculture, federal agency staff and industry leaders. Through the NNG programming, students learn about current food and agricultural policy issues, NASDA’s mission and careers in public service. There are 15 students from eight universities represented in this year’s class.

The following students were selected:

Jakob Baker, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Maria Brockamp, University of Illinois

Mallary Caudill, The Ohio State University

Madeline Dunn, University of Kentucky

Maya Fuller, University of Kentucky

Dylan Gentry, University of Kentucky

Grace Hasler, Purdue University

Jacob Knaebel, University of Missouri

Amysha Langley, University of Illinois

Seth Mitchell, University of Illinois

Noelle Neef, University of Illinois

Haley Nelson, University of Kentucky

Robert Thomas, Prairie View A&M University

Justin Walker, Tennessee State University

Emmanuel Wallace, Tennessee State University

This year, NASDA’s Annual Meeting will be hosted by NASDA President Commissioner Ryan Quarles in Louisville, Kentucky, Sept. 19-22. During the meeting events, students will also be able to explore Kentucky’s community-based agriculture.

To inquire about how you can support the NNG program or sponsor a class of 2021 student, please contact NASDA Foundation Program & Grants Coordinator Maria Martinez