NASDA Elects Reviczky of Connecticut President

Press Release -

New Orleans, LA

The National Association of State Departments of Agriculture (NASDA) today elected a new slate of officers for the coming year. Connecticut Commissioner of Agriculture Steven K. Reviczky will serve as NASDA’s 2017-18 President and will host the 2018 NASDA Annual Meeting in Hartford, Connecticut from September 9-12.

“I look forward to continuing to partner with my colleagues from across the country as we amplify NASDA’s unique voice and engage the administration and Congress to advance the interests of agriculture in the states,” said NASDA President and Connecticut Commissioner of Agriculture Steven Reviczky. “Over the next year NASDA will continue to advance America’s farmers and ranchers by pressing Congress to enact a forward-looking farm bill, advocating for agriculture’s interests in the international marketplace, and working to successfully implement the Food Safety Modernization Act.”

“I am especially excited about leading the work of our reinvigorated NASDA Foundation, a 501(c)(3) established in 1981. We have a new strategic plan guiding our work to 2020, and a new mission to advance agriculture and cultivate other societal benefits by empowering state departments of agriculture.”

Also elected to NASDA’s Board of Directors were New Mexico Secretary of Agriculture Jeff Witte (Vice President), Michigan Director of Agriculture Jamie Clover Adams (Second Vice President), and Kentucky Commissioner of Agriculture Ryan Quarles (Secretary-Treasurer). Louisiana Commissioner of Agriculture & Forestry Mike Strain will serve as NASDA’s Past President and North Dakota Commissioner of Agriculture Doug Goehring will serve in the At-Large position. Utah Commissioner of Agriculture LuAnn Adams, Mississippi Commissioner of Agriculture Cindy Hyde Smith, New York State Commissioner of Agriculture Richard Ball, and South Dakota Secretary of Agriculture Mike Jaspers will serve as the Western, Southern, Northeastern, and Midwestern representatives respectively.  

Following his election, Commissioner Reviczky appointed the leadership of NASDA’s six policy committees:

Marketing and International Trade Committee

  • Chair: Washington Director of Agriculture Derek Sandison (New)
  • Vice Chair: South Dakota Secretary of Agriculture Mike Jaspers (New)

Natural Resources and Environment Committee

  • Chair: Wyoming Director of Agriculture Doug Miyamoto
  • Vice Chair: Tennessee Commissioner of Agriculture Jai Templeton (New)

Animal Agriculture Committee

  • Chair: Nevada Director of Agriculture Jim Barbee
  • Vice Chair: Alabama Commissioner of Agriculture John McMillan

Plant Agriculture & Pesticide Regulation Committee

  • Chair: Oklahoma Secretary of Agriculture Jim Reese (New)
  • Vice Chair: Virginia Commissioner of Agriculture Sandy Adams (New)

Rural Development and Financial Security Committee

  • Chair: Pennsylvania Secretary of Agriculture Russell Redding (New)
  • Vice Chair: Montana Director of Agriculture Ben Thomas (New)

Food Regulation Committee

  • Chair: New York Commissioner of Agriculture Richard Ball
  • Vice Chair: Colorado Commissioner of Agriculture Don Brown (New)

NASDA Communications Working Group

  • Chair: Missouri Director of Agriculture Chris Chinn (New)

NASDA is a nonpartisan, nonprofit association which represents the elected and appointed commissioners, secretaries, and directors of the departments of agriculture in all fifty states and four U.S. territories. NASDA grows and enhances agriculture by forging partnerships and creating consensus to achieve sound policy outcomes between state departments of agriculture, the federal government, and stakeholders. Learn more about NASDA at

Image: The 2017-18 NASDA Board of Directors