Dear Mr. Chairman:

At a time when hunger is a daily headline, and the failure of our food supply chain is not an option, our nation has been blessed through your service as Chairman of the U.S. House of Representatives Agriculture Committee.

The scope of the Agriculture Committee’s work under your leadership has served a myriad of needs for farmers, rural communities, the environment, and the nutrition community. Through your nearly 30 years in Congress, it has been your championing of conservation programs— particularly the Conservation Reserve Program—which has made a difference to the economic and environmental health of our rural communities. Your work in this area, and your service to all within the agricultural community, has made the world a better place.

Finally, your commitment to strong, bipartisan, leadership in constructing the last three Farm Bills has been vital to helping farmers weather challenging economic times. Your work has helped us maintain a continual food supply in the face of a global pandemic and ensured that farmers had the resources and tools needed to keep farming. Your ongoing efforts, even in the waning days of this Congress, to secure COVID vaccinations for essential agricultural workers is simply the latest example of your leadership, caring, and commitment to our farmers, our workers, and our rural communities. You will be truly missed.

We all have many stories from our times together that we hope we can someday share with you. For now, however, as members of the agricultural communities that you have served so well, we simply want to say, “Thank You,” for your dedication, service, and tremendous contributions to American agriculture.


Daren Coppock, President & CEO
Agricultural Retailers Association

Zippy Duvall, President
American Farm Bureau Federation

Andy LaVigne, President & CEO
American Seed Trade Association

Todd Van Hoose, President & CEO
Farm Credit Council

Steve Censky, CEO
American Soybean Association

Corey Rosenbusch, President & CEO
The Fertilizer Institute

Luther Markwart, Executive Vice President
American Sugarbeet Association

Barb Glenn, CEO
National Association of State Departments of Agriculture

Dana O’Brien, Executive Vice President
Biotechnology Innovation Organization

Chandler Goule, CEO
National Association of Wheat Growers

Chris Novak, President & CEO
CropLife America

Colin Woodall, CEO
National Cattlemen’s Beef Association

Jim Mulhern, President & CEO
National Milk Producers Federation

Jon Doggett, CEO
National Corn Growers Association

Neil Dierks, CEO
National Pork Producers Association

Gary Adams, President & CEO
National Cotton Council

Tim Lust, CEO
National Sorghum Producers

Chuck Conner, President & CEO
National Council of Farmer Cooperatives

Tom Stenzel, President & CEO
United Fresh Produce Association

Rob Larew, President
National Farmers Union

Betsey Ward, President & CEO
USA Rice Federationof Agriculture), Treasurer

Date Sent:

December 23, 2020


Ag CEO Council


The Honorable Collin C. Peterson


U.S. House of Representatives Agriculture Committee