As part of NASDA’s guiding principle towards farm’s FSMA compliance, “educate before you regulate,” a team comprised of NASDA, State, FDA, and Cooperative Extension food safety leaders developed the On Farm Readiness Review (OFRR). Designed to move farmers away from the audit checklist scheme, the OFRR is meant to foster a dialogue between the farmer and the regulator and/or educator about the requirements of the Produce Safety Rule.

Benefits of OFRR:

1. Voluntary: Farmers request on OFRR from their state department of agriculture and/or extension agent.

2. Conversation: Over the course of a couple hours, scheduled at the convenience of the farmer, the reviewer observes growing conditions, harvesting practices, packinghouse operations, water sources, and discusses common food safety touch-points.

3. Useful Assessment: At the end of the review, the assessor provides their top three suggestions for the farm to improve its food safety practices. Afterwards, the farmer is connected with educational materials and resources to assist with solutions to achieve compliance with FSMA.

4. Peace of Mind for the Grower: This program has been designed to also educate the farmer on the inspection process and provide a level of comfort with the new requirements imposed by FSMA.

5. Public Health Assurance: Beginning in the Spring of 2018, regulators and educators will be on farms advancing food safety within our food system using the On Farm Readiness Review model.

6. Confidential: Careful consideration has been given to protecting farm information from prying eyes unless an immediate threat to public health is detected.

On-Farm Readiness Review
State How to Sign Up for an On-Farm Readiness Review
Alabama Complete form here and send to producesafety@agi.alabama.gov
Alaska Contact Sarah Coburn at sarah.coburn@alaska.gov; 907-375-8213 or Dena Cologgi dena.cologgi@alaska.gov; 907-375-8212
Arizona See more information here: Arizona On-Farm Readiness Review Inquire about booking here: Questionnaire
Arkansas Contact Dr. Amanda Philyaw Perez, aperez@uada.edu, 501-671-2228
California Contact the produce department at producesafety@cdfa.ca.gov or at 916-710-1554
Colorado Contact Sarah Musick at 303-869-9282 or sarah.musick@state.co.us
Connecticut Contact UConn Extension at 860-871-0776 or indu.upadhyaya@uconn.edu
Delaware Contact DE.ProduceSafety@state.de.us
Florida Complete form here or call 863-578-1900
Georgia Complete form here and send to rachel.futch@agr.georgia.gov
Hawaii Contact the Program Manager at weston.m.yap@hawaii.gov or at (808) 832-0685
Idaho Contact Casey Monn at Casey.Monn@isda.idaho.gov of Pamela Juker at pamela.juker@isda.idaho.gov
Indiana Contact Vivien McCurdy at vmccurdy@isdh.in.gov or 317-696-7383
Iowa Fill out form here
Kansas Contact Cal registering as a produce farm with the Kansas Department of Agriculture
Kentucky Contact Office of Agricultural Marketing and Product Promotion-Plant Division at (502) 782-4120
Louisiana Contact Allison Dumas at 225-935-2161 or adumas@ldaf.state.la.us
Maine Call (207) 764-2100 and ask to be put on the OFRR list to sign up for an On-Farm Readiness Review
Maryland Email Produce.Safety@maryland.gov, call MDA at 410-841-5769 or complete the OFRR request form online at http://mda.maryland.gov/fsma
Michigan Fill out this form request from Michigan State University Extension.
Minnesota Contact ProduceSafety.MDA@state.mn.us or call (651) 539-3648.
Mississippi Contact Davis Edwards at davis@mdac.ms.gov to schedule an On-Farm Readiness Review or visit the Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce website.
Missouri Contact the Missouri Produce Safety Program at 573-751-1134 to schedule an OFRR.
Montana Contact the MDA Produce Safety Coordinator at (406) 444-0131 after completing the inventory form here.
Nebraska Email or call the Nebraska Department of Agriculture at agr.produce.safety@nebraska.gov or (402) 471-2537
Nevada Contact Alexa Johnson at a.johnson@agri.nv.gov
New Hampshire Sign up by calling 603-848-4781 or email Vickie Smith at Victoria.m.smith@agr.nh.gov
New Jersey Sign up by calling 856-839-3377 or email Charlotte.Muetter@ag.nj.gov
New Mexico Register or contact the NMDA Produce Safety Section Program Manager by phone (575) 646-1809 or email producesafety@nmda.nmsu.edu.
New York Contact the NYS OFRR Team by phone (518) 457-3846 or email steve.schirmer@agriculture.ny.gov.
North Carolina Contact Sarah Cope, Outreach Coordinator for the Produce Safety Program within the NCDA&CS via call or text at 919-219-4716 or email at Sarah.Cope@ncagr.gov
Ohio Call Matt Fout at (614) 600-4272 or email mfout@agri.ohio.gov
Oklahoma Please fill out this form, or call (405) 522-3928
Oregon Complete form here and send a copy of the form to (503) 807-5864
Pennsylvania Call Kim Carlen, Produce Safety Program Specialist at 717-317-2057 or kcarlen@pa.gov
Rhode Island Fill out this form
South Carolina Fill out this form
Tennessee Contact the Tennessee Department of Agriculture Consumer Industry Services Produce Safety team at 615-532-8283.
Texas Contact Richard De Los Santos at producesafety@texasagriculture.gov or (512) 463-7472
Utah Contact Dave Basinger at dbasinger@utah.gov or (435) 636-3234 or USU Extension agent Karin Allen at ProduceSafety@usu.edu
Vermont Enroll farm in Vermont Produce Portal here and check box next to “On-Farm Readiness Review”
Virginia Contact the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services office at 804-786-4003
Washington Contact WSDA Produce Safety Program at producesafety@agr.wa.gov
Wisconsin Complete the Grower Questionnaire and indicate interest in an OFRR